burger Button

Mercury Rising – Inter* Hermstory[ies] Now and Then

15. October 2021 – 14. February 2022

Vernissage: October 14, 2021 at 7 PM
Exhibition: Oktober 15, 2021 – February 14, 2022

SMU’s first inter* focused exhibition is dedicated to the past and present of inter* movement(s) in activism, society, art and culture. It explores fragmentary universes and utopias on the topic of intersex issues which, until now has often been filtered and handed down through the gaze of dyadic people, or still is.

The multimedia wall collage by Ins A Kromminga and Ev Blaine Matthigack searches for traces of ancestors and origins of intersex movement(s) and associatively relates positions of inter* artists.  In an installative space station by the duo Giegold & Weiß, the voices of intersex activists become audible and visible and an intersex utopia is created.

With: Adeline Berry, Hiker Chiu, Obioma Chukwuike, Giegold & Weiß, Mauro Cabral Grinspan, Sunil Gupta, Crystal Hendricks, Ins A Kromminga, Ev Blaine Matthigack, Mani Mitchell, Eliana Rubashkyn, Charan Singh, Rae Smith, Rebecca Swan, Del LaGrace Volcano, Sean Saifa Wall, Gaëlle ‘Gelweo’ Wolf.
Curated by: Luan Pertl, Sylvia Sadzinski.

Funded by Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Supported by ArtWorks.

burger Button

Mercury Rising – Inter* Hermstory[ies] Now and Then

15. Oktober 2021 – 14. Februar 2022

Vernissage: 14. Oktober 2021, 19 Uhr
Ausstellung: 15. Oktober 2021 – 14. Februar 2022

Die erste inter*-fokussierte Ausstellung des SMU widmet sich der Geschichte und Gegenwart von inter* Bewegung(en) in Aktivismus, Gesellschaft, Kunst und Kultur. Sie erkundet fragmentarisch Universen und Utopien zum Thema Intergeschlechtlichkeit, das bisher oftmals durch den Blick dyadischer Menschen gefiltert und überliefert wurde beziehungsweise immer noch wird.

Die multimediale Wandcollage von Ins A Kromminga und Ev Blaine Matthigack begibt sich auf eine Spurensuche nach Ahnen und Ursprüngen von Intersex Bewegung(en) und setzt Positionen von inter* Künstler_innen assoziativ in Verbindung. In einer installativen Raumstation des Duos Giegold & Weiß werden die Stimmen intergeschlechtlicher Aktivist*innen hör- und sichtbar und ein Inter* Utopia entsteht.

Mit Adeline Berry, Hiker Chiu, Obioma Chukwuike, Giegold & Weiß, Mauro Cabral Grinspan, Sunil Gupta, Crystal Hendricks, Ins A Kromminga, Ev Blaine Matthigack, Mani Mitchell, Eliana Rubashkyn, Charan Singh, Rae Smith, Rebecca Swan, Del LaGrace Volcano, Sean Saifa Wall, Gaëlle ‚Gelweo‘ Wolf.

Kuration Luan Pertl, Sylvia Sadzinski

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Unterstützt durch artworks.