burger Button

Unboxed: Transgender in a Gay Museum?

18. January 2019 – 1. March 2019

Is a Gay Museum a good place to hold transgender collections? Materials labelled as transsexuality, transgender, transvestism, trans, “Transi”, or “Travestie” sit uneasily among the Museum’s much larger and better catalogued collections on cis gay and lesbian themes. This exhibition is an invitation to the wider public to engage in an ongoing process of surveying trans related material in the collections of the SMU.
The exhibition makes use of a range of archival materials including photographs, letters, personal scrapbooks and art works. Some sources, such as those from the Charlotte von Mahlsdorf collection, are well documented. Other collections have no documentation at all, leaving us unable to know about the lived realities and experiences of the people depicted.

Unboxed will display these materials in order to interrogate the SMU’s archival practices up to this day. How did these objects arrive here? Who decided that they would be preserved? How does the Museum deal with gaps and invisibilities? Can a museum tell a story without having objects to show? Can archives – places where meaning seems fixed and people come to seek out ‘truths’ – be challenged to accommodate new voices and perspectives? Is it possible to think outside the box of an archive?

The exhibition offers several impulses for visitors (online and in the museum) to engage with the objects and offer their own interpretations. As the materials in the archive have already been interpreted and categorized using a cis gaze, and as this project has been conceived and developed by cis scholars in an historically trans-exclusionary institution, we hope to create space in this exhibition for trans* communities to talk back to existing structures and intervene in the current archival practices of the museum. These feedbacks and dialogues will be included in the ongoing (re)cataloguing of the SMU’s transgender collections.

Opening: Friday, January 18th, 2019 at 7 pm

Dr. Sebastian Felten works as a lecturer in history at the University of Vienna. For the past 12 months, he has been cataloguing trans materials as a volunteer at the Schwules Museum.

Dr. Rebecca Kahn is a researcher in Digital Humanities at the Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society in Berlin.

burger Button

Unboxed: Transgender im Schwulen Museum?

18. Januar 2019 – 1. März 2019

Ist ein Schwules Museum ein guter Ort für eine Transgender-Sammlung? Zwischen den sehr viel größeren und besser erfassten Sammlungen des Schwulen Museums zur cis schwulen und zunehmend auch lesbischen und queeren Geschichte finden sich Archivalien, die unter den Stichworten Transsexualität, Transgender, Transvestitismus, Trans, “Transi” oder “Travestie” abgelegt wurden. Sie werfen viele Fragen auf. Unboxed ist eine Einladung an das Publikum, sich in die Erfassung von Archivalien mit Trans-Bezug einzubringen.
Die Ausstellung zeigt Archivmaterialien wie Fotos, Briefe, scrapbooks und Kunstwerke. Einige Objekte, wie z.B. jene aus dem Nachlass Charlotte von Mahlsdorf, sind gut dokumentiert. Andere Sammlungen haben keinerlei Dokumentation, so dass wir nichts über die gelebte Realität und Erfahrungen der abgebildeten Menschen wissen.

Unboxed zeigt diese Materialien, um die Archivpraxis des Schwulen Museums zu untersuchen. Wie sind die Objekte in die Sammlung gekommen? Wer entschied, dass sie aufbewahrt werden? Wie geht das Museum diskriminierungssensibel mit Leerstellen, Auslassungen und Unsichtbarkeiten um? Kann ein Museum Geschichten erzählen ohne entsprechende Objekte zu besitzen? Können Archive, also Orte in denen Bedeutung fest scheint und Menschen die “Wahrheit” suchen, herausgefordert werden, neue Stimmen und Perspektiven aufzunehmen?

Die Ausstellung gibt Besucher_innen Impulse, sowohl über eine Online-Plattform als auch in den Ausstellungsräumen direkt auf die ausgestellten Objekte zu reagieren und eigene Interpretationen einzubringen. Die gezeigten Objekte sind bisher aus einer Cis-Perspektive eingeordnet und interpretiert worden, und das gegenwärtige Projekt ist von einer Cis-Kuratorin und einem Cis-Kurator entwickelt worden. Wir hoffen daher, dass diese Ausstellung einen Ort für Trans*-Communities bietet, existierenden Strukturen am SMU zu widersprechen und in die gegenwärtige Archivpraxis einzugreifen. Diese Reaktionen und Dialoge werden in die derzeit stattfindende Neuerschließung der Transgender-Sammlungen eingehen.

Vernissage: Freitag, 18. Januar 2019, 19 Uhr

Kurator_innen: Rebecca Kahn und Sebastian Felten
Mit nachträglicher Intervention und Beratung durch: Zoya.
Projektmanagement: Anina Falasca

Dr. Sebastian Felten arbeitet als Historiker an der Universität Wien. In den vergangenen 12 Monaten hat er ehrenamtlich an der Erschließung von Trans-Archivalien am SMU mitgearbeitet.

Dr. Rebecca Kahn arbeitet als Forscherin in Digital Humanities am Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft.