burger Button

Year of the Women*

1. January 2018 – 31. December 2018

For more than 30 years now, New York’s Guerrilla Girls have been decrying this scandalous fact: wimmin* have to be naked to get into museums! And the Girls still have every reason to rage. December 2017 saw publication of the biggest ever empirical survey of gender discrimination in the European and US-American art worlds. Its database: 2.7 million transactions in the period 2000 to 2017, submitted by over 1,000 galleries representing 100,000 artists. Only 5 percent of the documented sales involved works of art by women*; sales revenue from the top two artists, Picasso and Warhol, far outstripped the combined revenue of all the women* artists put together; and to this day, not a single woman* has made it into international art’s so-called top league. This, despite the fact that the proportion of women* students in art schools has been a steady 50 percent since 1983. Art historian Linda Nochlin asked way back in 1971, Why Have There Been No Great Women Artists? Yet little has changed since then, conclude the authors of the survey. The notion of the single male genius is as predominant as ever.

Of course it is not the fault of collectors, galleries, and museums that these ugly truths persist, since the ballgame in their sector simply mirrors prevailing social norms. There’s no denying nonetheless that they help perpetuate those norms. And yes, we’d even go so far as to name misogyny and sexism as root causes, and, in this particular context, the quantifiable depreciation or even invalidation of women’s* perspectives and positions, creativity, work, and reputations.

If not to put an instant end to, then at least to begin addressing this sorry state of affairs, the Schwules Museum has declared 2018 to be YEAR OF THE WOMEN* and rolled out a program to match. Exhibitions, lectures, controversial debates, and riveting readings are in store, just as you’d expect from a museum; but also some surprises, such as healing rituals and actions—for the year will be feminist not only in content, but also in form.

 

YEAR OF THE WOMEN* kicked off with 12 MOONS, a film program curated by artist Vera Hofmann to redress the under-representation of women’s* perspectives, specifically in media and museum contexts, but also in the arts and society overall. Month by month, the screenings raise questions about the construction and communication of forms of womanhood*, and also gauge the potential of an alternative gaze. In our quest for the classics of lesbian and feminist film history, contemporary queer positions, and the voices of women* of color, we welcome your suggestions as to which stories need to be told and heard. The film program changes with every new moon, and can be viewed during regular Museum opening hours in the film lounge created especially for the occasion.

From the first sun-kissed days of spring to the end of the year, we’ll be mapping feminismS in a series of events framed as OUR OWN FEMINISMS; and yes, that’s definitely feminism with an -s, in all its multiple meanings. Curated by Carina Klugbauer, Vera Hofmann, Chris Izgin and Tjona Sommer, the series will trace historic battles fought by feminist and queer individuals and movements, and finally ask: Where do we stand today? Whether feminismS are just a vague interest or your defining vital force, these events are for you—in fact, for anyone who enjoys working out all kinds of issues, in mutual respect, rather than trashing and excluding divergent perspectives. Joining in the discussions will not require a PhD, by the way, and times and topics will be posted well in advance on our website and Facebook page.

LESBIAN VISIONS will be in the spotlight a little later in the summer, when we propose a melancholic, utopian gallery that reflects lust and longing between women* in artistic spheres. We question why “lesbian” motifs are so thin on the ground and what these motifs could be. We ask whether who women* love and live with is relevant at all, or if the personal is still political and therefore of artistic importance. The temporal-spatial span of this curatorial research will be Berlin’s prolific, upbeat women’s* art scenes, east and west, from the immediate post-war years to the present. Birgit Bosold and Carina Klugbauer will curate the exhibition.

A second show within the permanent exhibition Tapetenwechsel (Change of Scenery), will sound out the thesis that gay liberation could never have seen the light of day without the mental midwifery of dykes and other feminist women. This, the first ever exhibition to pay tribute to the LESBISCHES AKTIONSZENTRUM (LAZ; Lesbian Action Center), one of the leading lesbian campaign groups of the 1970s, will be co-curated by LAZ activists Christiane Härdel, Dr. Regina Krause, and Monne (Monika) Kühn, and the founding mother of the Schwules Museum, Wolfgang Theis.

Next in autumn follows an exhibition about the WomenLesbianTransInter* (FLTI*) BDSM scene in Berlin. Curated by Birga Meyer in close cooperation with women, lesbian, trans* and inter* people from the international BDSM community and complemented by a program of events, it will offer insights into aspects of this scene that have been nurtured over many years in safe, sex-positive spaces, not only introducing visitors to possibly unfamiliar expressions of desire but also sharing participants’ knowledge and experience of consensus, health, care, generationality, and the diverse relationships that play out there.

In 1984, the chair of a major Delhi-based hijira rights organization petitioned Prime Minister Indira Gandhi and Soviet leader Konstantin Chernenko on behalf of all its members: since an Indian astronaut was about to join a Soviet space probe, (the first of his country to do so) the time was ripe “[to] give parity to the sexually under-privileged and socially neglected persons of the ‘Third Sex’ by sending at least one of this group into space in future ventures.” (Hindustan Times, October 4, 1984). The petition was not granted. In her project HIJIRA FANSTASTIC, scheduled likewise for autumn, artist and media scholar Claudia Reiche will examine just how this mission to outer space might have looked.

The transition to winter will take place under the aegis of queer feminist collective Coven Berlin. Its exhibition EXTRA+TERRESTRIAL will demonstrate how queer urban communities are now reclaiming wise women* and witches’ ancient lore of rites, rituals, and magic, and fusing these with modern, web-based technologies. For we need this potent mix to forge effective tools of resistance and smash heteronormative, capitalist patriarchy.

Wolfgang Theis returns to Tapetenwechsel, this time to pay homage to cultural activist MAHIDE LEIN, an old hand at lesbian-feminist advocacy who has worked tirelessly for decades on the Berlin scene, to advance sex positivism, generational diversity, multiculturalism, and human rights.

What else? We’re turning our café into a DYKE BAR this year, as a token of our love of these venues now threatened with extinction; and we’re providing a small OPEN PROJECT SPACE that can be used at short notice for all sorts of stuff, from meetings to co-working sessions, bookworm buzzes to in-the-flesh chats. Both spaces are devised as symbolic and concrete opportunities for open-minded encounters.

We see the program currently launching at the Schwules Museum as an experimental field with transformative potential, the goal of which is a more future-oriented and participative (museum) practice. As a grassroots organization (i.e. one lead and organized by activists), the Schwules Museum has always fostered and thrived on frank communication with its visitors and the communities it represents. We want to continue that tradition this year with even more transparency, so as to collectively develop resilient concepts for queer/feminist cooperation, and anchor them for the long-term in the Museum’s practice.

 

The logo and key visual for the “Jahr der Frau_en” were devised by Jessica Mester.

YEAR OF THE WOMEN* is supported by the Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa (Senate Department for Culture and Europe).

Projects

17. January 2018

14:00

Screenings

12 Moons

15. March 2018

18:00

Lectures

our own feminismS

19. April 2018

19:00

Installation

Dyke Bar: Spirits

9. May 2018

19:00

Exhibition

Lesbian Visions

6. July 2018

19:00

Exhibition

RADICAL – LESBIAN – FEMINIST

6. September 2018

19:00

Exhibition

PROUDLY PERVERTED – Perspectives on the WomenLesbianTrans*Inter* BDSM Community

28. September 2018

19:00

Exhibition

HIJRA FANTASTIK by Claudia Reiche

22. November 2018

19:00

Exhibition

EXTRA+TERRESTRIAL by COVEN BERLIN

burger Button

Jahr der Frau_en

1. Januar 2018 – 31. Januar 2019

Die New Yorker Guerrilla Girls skandalisieren es seit mehr als 30 Jahren, dass Frauen* nackt sein müssen, um ins Museum zu kommen! Sie haben immer noch recht: Im Dezember 2017 erschien die bisher größte empirische Studie über geschlechtliche Diskriminierung in der europäischen und US-amerikanischen Kunstwelt. Die Datenbasis: 2,7 Millionen Transaktionen aus der Zeit 2000 – 2017 von mehr als 1.000 Galerien mit mehr als 100.000 Künstler_innen. Nur 5% der erfassten Verkäufe beziehen sich auf Werke von Künstlerinnen*, der Wert der verkauften Werke der beiden höchstdotierten Künstler Pablo Picasso und Andy Warhol übersteigt den aller erfassten Verkäufe von Künstlerinnen* zusammen und in der Top-Liga der internationalen Kunst findet sich keine einzige Frau*. Und das obwohl die Quote der weiblichen* Studierenden an den Kunst­akademien seit 1983 konstant etwa 50 Prozent beträgt. Seit Linda Nochlins berühmtem Aufsatz Why Have There Been No Great Women Artists? von 1971 habe sich wenig verändert, die Vorstellung des männlichen Genies sei nach wie vor beherrschend, fassen die Autor_innen ihre Ergebnisse zusammen.

Sammler_innen, Galerien und Museen sind natürlich nicht „schuld“ an diesen unschönen Zuständen, spiegeln sie doch mit ihrem Handeln lediglich die geltenden sozialen Normen. Allerdings tragen sie genau damit dazu bei, sie aufrechtzuerhalten. Und ja, wir würden als Ursache dafür Misogynie und Sexismus nennen, in diesem Fall die sogar messbare Entwertung der Perspektiven und Positionen von Frauen*, ihrer Kreativität, ihrer Arbeit, ihrer Reputation.

Um das, wenn schon nicht zu verändern, so doch wenigstens zu adressieren, proklamiert das Schwule Museum mit seinem Programm 2018 das „Jahr der Frau_en“. Es wird die in einem Museum erwartbaren Formate wie Ausstellungen oder Vorträge geben, kontroverse Debatten und schöne Lesungen, aber auch Überraschendes, wie Heilungsrituale und Aktionen. Nicht nur der Inhalt wird feministisch, sondern auch die Form.

Eröffnet wird das „Jahr der Frau_en“ mit der Filmreihe 12 MONDE, kuratiert von der Künstlerin Vera Hofmann. Die Reihe ist eine ganzjährig angelegte Inter­vention gegen die mangelnde Repräsentation weiblicher* Perspektiven – sowohl in audiovisuellen Medien und musealen Kontexten, als auch in Kultur und Gesellschaft allgemein. Sie entwirft Fragen nach der Darstellung und Konstruk­tion von Weiblichkeit_en und dem Potential eines anderen Blicks. Auf der Suche nach den Klassikern lesbischer und feministischer Filmhistorie, nach zeit­ge­nössisch­en queeren Positionen und den Stimmen von Women* of Color sind alle eingeladen, Vorschläge zu machen, welche Geschichten gesehen und gehört werden sollen. Das Filmprogramm wechselt zu jedem Neumond und läuft im regulären Museumsbetrieb in der dafür geschaffenen Filmlounge.

Mit den ersten Sonnenstrahlen wollen wir uns ab Frühling mit einer Veranstaltungsreihe OUR OWN FEMINISMS – EIN QUEERFEMINISTISCHES ZUKUNFTSLABOR der Kartierung der Feminismen widmen, die uns das Jahr hindurch begleiten wird: Kuratiert von Carina Klugbauer, Vera Hofmann, Chris Izgin und Tjona Sommer will sie die historischen Kämpfe der feministischen und queeren Individuen und Bewegungen nachzeichnen und fragen wo wir heute stehen. Sie richtet sich an feministisch Interessierte, Feminist_innen im Herzen und alle, die Lust haben, miteinander und nicht gegeneinander zu diskutieren. Die Teilnahme setzt keine akademische Vorbildung voraus. Die Termine und Themen werden zeitnah auf unserer Website und auf Facebook bekannt gegeben.

Wenig später werden wir im Sommer mit LESBISCHES SEHEN eine utopisch-melancholische Galerie entwerfen, die dem lesbischen Begehren in künstlerischen Produktionen auf der Spur ist. Wir erforschen, warum kaum „lesbische“ Sujets zu finden sind und was das eigentlich sein könnte. Und wir fragen, ob es nicht eigentlich sowieso irrelevant ist, mit wem eine lebt und wen sie liebt oder ob das Private nicht doch politisch ist und damit auch künstlerisch relevant? In diesem Projekt gehen wir in einem regional und zeitlich begrenzten Feld auf Spurensuche – in der überaus vitalen Künstlerinnen*szene in beiden Berlins von der Nachkriegszeit bis heute. Kuratiert wird die Ausstellung von Birgit Bosold und Carina Klugbauer.

Ab Juli wird im Rahmen der laufenden Ausstellung Tapetenwechsel erstmals die Geschichte des LESBISCHEN AKTIONSZENTRUMS WESTBERLIN gewürdigt. Gezeigt wird die Entstehung dieser ersten offensiven Lesbengruppe der 70Jahre aus der HAW-Frauengruppe, ihre Kämpfe, Aktionen, Publikationen und viele der aus dem LAZ entstandenen Projekte. Begleitend wird von Zeitzeuginnen in Filmen und Diskussionen eine Brücke zur heutigen Realität von Lesben und deren Sichtbarkeit geschlagen.  In Zusammenarbeit mit Aktivistinnen und Zeitzeuginnen von HAW/LAZ kuratieren Christiane Härdel, Regina Krause, Monne Kühn – und Wolfgang Theis, eine der Gründungsmütter des Museums.

Im Herbst schließt eine Ausstellung über die FrauenLesbenTrans*Inter* BDSM Szene in Berlin an. Kuratiert von Birga Meyer und Luan Pertl werden Aspekte dieser Szene gezeigt, die  in geschützten, sex-positiven Räumen über Jahre entstanden sind. Die Ausstellung und ihr Rahmenprogramm will die Besucher*innen nicht nur mit vielleicht unbekannten Formen des Begehrens bekannt machen, sondern auch Wissen und Erfahrungen über dort gelebte Beziehungsformen, Konsens, Care und Community mit dem Publikum teilen.

Die Vorsitzende einer großen Hijra Organisation aus Delhi wandte sich 1984 mit einer Forderung an Indira Gandhi und Konstantin Tschernenko. Anlässlich des ersten Raumflugs eines indischen Kosmonauten als Mitglied einer sowjetischen Mission verlangten die vereinigten Hijras: „[to] give parity to the sexually under-privileged and socially neglected persons of the ‚Third Sex‘ by sending at least one of this group in to space in future ventures.“ (Hindustan Times, 04/10/1984). Dieser Bitte wurde nicht entsprochen, die Künstlerin und Medienwissenschaftlerin Claudia Reiche wird ihrem Projekt HIJRA FANSTASTIC ebenfalls im Herbst der Frage nachgehen, wie sich eine solche Aussendung hätte gestaltet haben könnte.

Den Übergang zum Winter schafft das queerfeministische Kollektiv Coven Berlin mit seiner Ausstellung EXTRA+TERRESTRIAL. Sie wird zeigen, wie sich queere urbane Communities heute das alte Wissen weiser Frauen* und Hexen über Rituale und Magie zurückerobern und es mit neuen, internetbasierten Technologien verbinden, um wirksame Werkzeuge des Widerstands gegen das heteropatriarchale kapitalistische System zu schaffen.

Wolfgang Theis wird noch einmal in Tapetenwechsel mit einer Hommage an die Kulturaktivistin MAHIDE LEIN eines der Urgesteine der aktivistischen Berliner Frauen- und Lesbenbewegung ehren. Sie setzt sich seit Jahrzehnten für Sexpositivismus, Generationendiversität, Multikulturalität und Menschenrechte ein.

Was noch? Wir werden unser Café in diesem Jahr zu einer DYKE BAR umbauen, als Liebeserklärung an diese Orte, die im Verschwinden begriffen sind und einen kleinen Ausstellungsraum als OPEN PROJECT SPACE bereit stellen, um ihn multifunktional und kurzfristig bespielen zu können. Er kann als Meetingraum, Lesezimmer, für kleine Ausstellungen, zum Co-Working und Diskutieren genutzt werden. Er soll ein symbolischer und realer Raum sein, um sich und anderen mit Offenheit zu begegnen.

Wir begreifen unser Jahresprogramm als ein Experimentierfeld für Veränderung mit dem Ziel, eine zukunftsweisende, partizipative (Museums-)Praxis zu entwickeln. Das Schwule Museum ist als Museum „von unten“ ein maßgeblich von Aktivist_innen geleitetes und organisiertes Haus, das schon immer in enger Kommunikation mit seinen Besucher_innen und den von ihm repräsentierten Communities steht. Wir möchten diese Tradition in diesem Jahr noch transparenter gestalten, um gemeinsam nachhaltige Konzepte für ein (queer-)feministisches Miteinander zu entwickeln und langfristig in unserer Museumspraxis zu verankern.

Das Logo und das Key Visual für das „Jahr der Frau_en“ wurden von Jessica Mester entwickelt.

Das „Jahr der Frau_en“ wird gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.